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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

PURPOSE 

The Office of the State Auditor initiated an investigation in response to allegations received 
through its Hotline regarding the Wildlife Resources Commission (Commission).  

BACKGROUND 

The Commission is a state government agency created in 1947 to conserve and sustain North 
Carolina’s fish and wildlife resources through research, scientific management, wise use, and 
public input. The Commission is the regulatory agency responsible for the enforcement of 
North Carolina’s fishing, hunting, trapping, and boating laws. 

The former Executive Director mentioned in this report served as the Executive Director from 
August 2008 until his retirement in January 2021. The current Executive Director started in the 
position in August 2020.1  

The Legislative Liaison mentioned in this report has held this position since February 9, 2015. 
This position reports to the Executive Director. 

KEY FINDING 

The Legislative Liaison failed to record leave time in the state payroll system. 

KEY RECOMMENDATIONS 

• The Legislative Liaison should record his remaining leave taken from February 2015 
through December 2020 in the state payroll system.2 

• The Executive Director should ensure all employees record leave taken in the state 
payroll system.  

• The Executive Director should approve leave records for all employees under his 
supervision.  

• The Commission should consider disciplinary action against the Legislative Liaison. 
 
 
 
 
 
                                                      
1 According to the former Executive Director, he served as a transition advisor to the new Executive Director from 

August 2020 until January 2021.   
2 In January 2021 (after the start of our investigation), the Legislative Liaison reported 38 days of leave taken, 

totaling 304 hours. This leave was recorded in the state payroll system. However, 53 days of leave taken by this 
employee, totaling 424 hours, has still not been recorded in the state payroll system. 
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AUDITOR’S TRANSMITTAL 

The Honorable Roy Cooper, Governor 
Members of the North Carolina General Assembly 
Cameron Ingram, Executive Director 

Ladies and Gentlemen: 

Pursuant to North Carolina General Statutes §147-64.6(c)(16) and §147-64.6B, we have 
completed an investigation of allegations concerning the Wildlife Resources Commission. The 
results of our investigation, along with recommendations for corrective action, are contained in 
this report. 

Copies of this report have been provided to the Governor, the Attorney General, and other 
appropriate officials in accordance with N.C.G.S. §147-64.6(c)(12). We appreciate the 
cooperation received from the management and employees of the Wildlife Resources 
Commission during our investigation. 

Respectfully submitted, 

 
Beth A. Wood, CPA 
State Auditor 
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Chapter 147, Article 5A of the North Carolina General Statutes, gives the Auditor broad powers to examine all books, 
records, files, papers, documents, and financial affairs of every state agency and any organization that receives public 
funding. The Auditor also has the power to summon people to produce records and to answer questions under oath. 
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BACKGROUND 

 
The Office of the State Auditor initiated an investigation in response to allegations received 
through its Hotline regarding the Wildlife Resources Commission (Commission).  

Our investigation of this allegation included the following procedures: 

• Review of applicable policies and procedures. 

• Examination and analysis of available documentation related to the allegation. 

• Interviews with the Commission’s current and former personnel. 

This report presents the results of the investigation. The investigation was conducted pursuant 
to North Carolina General Statutes §147-64.6(c)(16) and §147-64.6B. 
 
Wildlife Resources Commission 
 
The Commission is a state government agency created in 1947 to conserve and sustain North 
Carolina’s fish and wildlife resources through research, scientific management, wise use, and 
public input. The Commission is the regulatory agency responsible for the enforcement of 
North Carolina’s fishing, hunting, trapping, and boating laws. 
 
The Commission has an operational budget of approximately $85 million and employs  
650 full-time staff. 
 
The former Executive Director mentioned in this report served as the Executive Director from 
August 2008 until his retirement in January 2021. The current Executive Director started in the 
position in August 2020.3  
 
The Legislative Liaison mentioned in this report has held this position since February 9, 2015. 
This position reports to the Executive Director. 
 
North Carolina Employee Leave 
 
The State of North Carolina offers a leave package to support employees with work-life 
balance. The State offers leave in the following categories: holiday, vacation, sick, community 
service, family medical, family illness, military, voluntary shared, and civil. North Carolina 
General Statutes §126-4 state that the State Human Resources Commission shall establish 
policies and rules governing employee leave.  
 
 

                                                      
3 According to the former Executive Director, he served as a transition advisor to the new Executive Director from 

August 2020 until January 2021. 
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FINDING AND RECOMMENDATIONS 

THE LEGISLATIVE LIAISON FAILED TO RECORD LEAVE TIME IN THE STATE PAYROLL SYSTEM 

From February 2015 through December 2020, the Legislative Liaison (Liaison)4 for the Wildlife 
Resources Commission (Commission) did not record any leave taken in the state payroll 
system.5 As a result, had he separated from state employment, the Liaison could have been 
paid for unused leave that had actually been used. Also, the Liaison’s months of service 
counting towards retirement were incorrect.  

The Liaison claimed he was unaware of the requirement to record his leave time. Also, the 
Commission’s former Executive Director did not enforce guidelines for recording leave taken. 

The Commission’s Employee Handbook and state guidelines require employees to record 
leave taken in the state payroll system.  

Failure to Record Leave Time 

From February 2015 through December 2020, the Liaison for the Commission did not record 
any leave taken (vacation or sick leave) in the state payroll system. Specifically, he did not 
record at least 91 days of leave taken, at eight hours per day, totaling 728 hours.  

According to the State Human Resources Manual,6 paid vacation leave is credited to state 
employees7 for the primary purpose of allowing employees to renew their physical and mental 
capabilities and to remain fully productive. Vacation leave accumulates on a monthly basis. On 
December 31 of each year, any employee with more than 240 hours of accumulated vacation 
leave shall have the excess accumulation converted to sick leave.  

When employees separate from state employment,8 they are entitled to receive a lump sum 
payment for their unused vacation leave, not to exceed 240 hours.9  

In addition, sick leave is granted to state employees at the rate of eight hours per month and 
accumulates indefinitely. Unused sick leave may be applied towards retirement when an 
employee is eligible to retire within five years.  

Since vacation leave can be paid out if an employee separates, and sick leave can be applied 
to years of service for retirement, not recording leave hours used has an effect on both of 
these calculations.  

Resulted in Potential Payment of Unused Leave  

Because the Liaison did not record any leave taken from February 2015 through  
December 2020, his accumulated leave balances were incorrect for this time period. As a 
result, although he did not separate from state employment, he could have been entitled to a 

                                                      
4 The Legislative Liaison began employment with the Commission on February 9, 2015. 
5 NC Office of the State Controller’s Integrated HR-Payroll System. 
6 State Human Resources Manual, Section 5. 
7 State employees who are in pay status (working, on paid leave, or on workers’ compensation leave) for at least 

half of the regularly scheduled workdays and holidays in the pay period are granted vacation and sick leave. 
8 Separation due to resignation, dismissal, or death. 
9 State Human Resources Manual, Section 5. 
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FINDING AND RECOMMENDATIONS 

lump sum payment of up to 240 hours of unused leave, or $9,768, had he separated from 
state employment during this period.  

Also, because the accumulated leave balances were incorrect, the Liaison could have had 
more months of service count towards retirement than he had actually earned. 

In January 2021, after the start of our investigation, the Liaison reported 38 days of leave taken, 
totaling 304 hours, to the Commission’s Human Resources office. This leave was recorded in 
the state payroll system. However, he has still not reported the remaining 53 days of leave 
taken, totaling 424 hours.10 

Liaison Claimed to be Unaware of the Requirement to Report Leave Time 

According to the Liaison, he did not record any leave taken in the state payroll system from 
February 2015 through December 2020 because he was unaware of the requirement to record 
leave time. According to state guidelines,11 as a negative time reporting employee,12 the 
Liaison was only required to record variations from his normal schedule, such as leave taken.  

According to the Commission’s former Human Resources Director, the Commission conducts 
an orientation for new employees. This orientation is “where [an employee] would first be 
introduced to time tracking” and where “their supervisor typically shows them additional steps 
for entering their time.”  

However, the Liaison stated that he did not attend the new employee orientation on his first 
day of employment. He stated, “I had to work…at the General Assembly…I was never there 
[at the new employee orientation] to get familiar with that process.” 

According to the Liaison, he was not made aware of the requirement to record leave time until 
December 2020 when his supervisor, the current Executive Director, informed him that he 
needed to report leave time. He stated that he was under the impression that, “you get a certain 
amount of time for a year, you use it or lose it and not until I had this conversation with my new 
supervisor did he explain to me that it accumulates over the course of your time with the state… 
that was never explained to me prior to my new boss saying that.”  

When asked why the Liaison thought that time would be lost if he didn’t use it, he explained 
“that was an assumption” based on “nothing tangible.” 

Also Caused by Lack of Enforcement by the Former Executive Director  

The Liaison did not record any leave taken in the state payroll system because the former 
Executive Director did not enforce the guidelines that required the Liaison to record his leave 
time in the system. 

                                                      
10 The 304 hours the Liaison recorded since our investigation began and the 424 hours he has not recorded equal 

the total of 728 hours investigators found he had not recorded prior to our investigation.  
11 NC Office of the State Controller’s Time Entry Overview Job Aid TM-33. 
12 According to the Commission’s Employee Handbook, negative time reporting employees are required to record 

only variations in their normal schedule (i.e. vacation and sick leave). However, positive time reporting employees 
are required to record all hours, including hours worked and leave. 
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FINDING AND RECOMMENDATIONS 

According to the Liaison, there were no conversations between the former Executive Director 
and the Liaison about recording leave time. The Liaison stated, “I never had a specific 
conversation [related to time recording] with the previous director…ever.”  

The former Executive Director confirmed that he was responsible for approving the Liaison’s 
leave time. When asked if the Liaison had recorded leave time, the former Executive Director 
stated, “I think so, I feel like I remember approving his leave…I’m pretty sure…I think.” 
However, the Liaison did not record any leave time (vacation or sick leave) in the state payroll 
system for the former Executive Director to approve.  

State policy13 requires supervisors to validate time entered into the state payroll system by 
their employees.  

Commission Requires Recording of Leave Time and Provides Consequences for Failure 
to Record Leave Time  

The Commission’s Employee Handbook states, “negative time recording employees must only 
record variations from their normal schedule, such as leave taken.”  Also, “failure to report 
absences from work could result in disciplinary measures, up to and including dismissal.”  

State Guidelines Require Recording of Leave Time 

Additionally, guidelines for the state payroll system14 state that for negative time reporting 
employees, “the employee must record only variations from their normal schedule, such as 
leave taken.”  

RECOMMENDATIONS 

The Legislative Liaison should record his remaining leave taken from February 2015 through 
December 2020 in the state payroll system. 

The Executive Director should ensure all employees record leave taken in the state payroll 
system.  

The Executive Director should approve leave records for all employees under his supervision.  

The Commission should consider disciplinary action against the Legislative Liaison. 

                                                      
13 NC Office of the State Controller’s Policy 700.02 HR Payroll Policy – Human Resources and Payroll Agency and 

Employee Responsibility.  
14 NC Office of the State Controller’s Time Entry Overview Job Aid TM-33. 
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STATE AUDITOR’S RESPONSE  

Professional standards require the Office of the State Auditor (OSA) to provide reports with 
complete and accurate information to the Governor, the General Assembly, the citizens of 
North Carolina, and other stakeholders. When the response received from the entity subject 
to investigation is not complete, potentially clouds an issue, misleads the reader, or 
minimizes the importance of findings and recommendations, OSA provides clarifications 
regarding the response.  
 
In its response to this investigative report, the Wildlife Resources Commission (Commission) 
made several statements that are incorrect, misleads the reader, and overall attempted to 
minimize the importance of OSA’s finding and recommendations. To ensure complete and 
accurate information, OSA offers the following clarifications. 
  
In its response, the Commission states that the Legislative Liaison needs to record only  
31 additional days of leave time based on a detailed analysis performed by the Commission’s 
auditor and staff.   
 
This statement is not correct. 
 
As the report clearly states, the OSA investigation determined that the Legislative Liaison had 
not recorded 91 days of leave in the state payroll system. During the investigation, the 
Legislative Liaison recorded 38 days of leave. This left 53 days unrecorded. 
 
The Legislative Liaison confirmed with the investigators that he did not work 35 of these  
53 days, but did not record this leave in the state payroll system.   
 
In addition, the Legislative Liaison stated to investigators that he was unable to determine if 
he worked on seven of the 53 days.  
 
For the remaining 11 days, the Legislative Liaison did not provide supporting documentation 
to prove that he actually worked, even after several requests made by the investigators for this 
documentation. 
  
Also, in its response, the Commission details the scope and nature of work performed by the 
Legislative Liaison.  The Commission states: 
 

Due to the scope and nature of the work performed by the Legislative Liaison, 
it is not required for the individual holding the position to maintain an outlook 
calendar, send daily emails, or make daily phone calls. 

 
This statement is misleading. 
 
The scope and nature of his work or the lack of accountability for his whereabouts does not 
negate the requirements by the Commission and the state for the Legislative Liaison to record 
his leave time in the state payroll system.     
 
Again, OSA provides this clarifying information to ensure that this report provides complete 
and accurate information to the Governor, the General Assembly, and the citizens of North 
Carolina because the Commission’s response included incorrect statements that could 
cloud the issue, mislead the reader, and minimize the importance of OSA’s finding and 
recommendations. 
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RESPONSE FROM THE WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

 



 

This investigation required 645 hours at an approximate cost of $67,497. 
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ORDERING INFORMATION 

COPIES OF THIS REPORT MAY BE OBTAINED BY CONTACTING: 

Office of the State Auditor 
State of North Carolina 

2 South Salisbury Street 
20601 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-0600 

Telephone: 919-807-7500 
Facsimile: 919-807-7647 

Internet: http://www.auditor.nc.gov 
 

 

To report alleged incidents of fraud, waste or abuse in state government contact the 
Office of the State Auditor Fraud Hotline:  

Telephone:1-800-730-8477 

Internet: https://www.auditor.nc.gov/about-us/state-auditors-hotline 

  
 

 
 
 

For additional information contact the 
North Carolina Office of the State Auditor at: 

919-807-7666 

   

 

 

http://www.auditor.nc.gov/
https://www.auditor.nc.gov/about-us/state-auditors-hotline
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